Hyperattention: Selected Dijital Works Vol. 1 (LP)


Dijit ‎– Hyperattention: Selected Dijital Works Vol. 1

A1. Dijit Feat SD – 1772 (cover)
A2. Dijit Feat. SD – Morra (Abd Elghani Alsayed Cover)
A3. Dijit Feat Karimaann – Bad K
A4. Dijit Feat. AC Ghazy – Babaakh
A5. Dijit Feat SD – Natfo
A6. Dijit Feat. Karen – Ice Cream
A7. Dijit – Lakk

B1. Dijit Feat. SD – Laila Elweskha
B2. Dijit – Mahragan elahzan
B3. Dijit Feat. Ott Eswed -Zeed
B4. Dijit – Soaad
B5. Dijit Feat. Ali Talibab & SD – We’re the dead

In stock

SKU: YO7TH Category: Tag:


Dijit ‎– Hyperattention: Selected Dijital Works Vol. 1

Exceptional debut album of blue and abstracted trip hop from Cairo’s Dijit, making their first appearance for Andy Lyster’s Youth with a smoked-out, downbeat sound reminding us of Leila’s classic debut album ‘Like Weather’ and Tricky’s ‘Pre-Millennium Tension’ – with contemporary echoes of Tirzah, Zuli and Msylma.

Perfectly low-lit and charged with a slow, nocturnal energy, ‘Hyperattention: Selected Digital Works Vol.1’ rounds up five years (2013-2018) of recordings made in Cairo by Hashem L Kelesh aka Dijit featuring a succession of guest vocalists who would come to smoke, hang-out and make music in his studio.

Undoubtedly echoing Richard D James / Björk-collaborator Leila as much as the off-kilter blooz of Tricky, or even Tirzah’s hashed-out lower case R&B, the set memorably introduces a fully formed artist who’s already worked with well known musicians and singers in Egypt and the Middle East, and is now primed for wider audiences.


Additional information






Downtempo, Electronic, Experimental, Hip Hop